North Shore Old Car Club
    NSOCC is the Oldest and Largest Independent Antique Auto Club in New England

NSOCC Special Awards

   Back to Awards">Awards">Awards">Awards">Awards
Ernie Johnson Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Restoration


The original instructions for the award of this trophy stated that it was to be awarded for the best owner restored car for the year.

A number of questions arose when examining cars to be considered for this award.  Listed below are just some of the questions that were questioned and need to be addressed:

  • Must car be a frame-up restoration?
  • If not, where should the line be drawn?
  • An excellent job on a *cream puff* all original car may entail far less work than a  job of the same caliber on a  basket case. Should the edge be given on overall result (authenticity) or amount of effort (industry)?
  • How much of the work must be done personally by owner, in order to qualify as an Owner-restored car?
  • Should unauthentic accessories count against what is otherwise a fine restoration? If authenticity is the major criteria, a less perfect car could win the award.
  • Shouldn’t owners of ongoing restorations be provided with the criteria before they apply for award consideration?
  • Is there any requirement that this award be made every year?

It was decided that the Club should have guidelines that would be consistent from year to year in the interest of fairness to all parties.  Clearly, the intent and application of this award from its inception has been to place the emphasis on the amount of work done personally by the owner, the quality of workmanship, and the completeness and authenticity of the restoration.

The major restoration tasks are:  total car disassembly and assembly; engine and drive train rebuilding; plating; sandblasting; welding; body work; body painting; reupholstering; top construction and repair and painting of chassis and accessories.  Minor restoration tasks such as purchase of new accessories and parts clearly should merit only secondary consideration. 


  • Owner must be a Club member in good standing.
  • Car must be driven to at least one club sponsored meet during the calendar year in which the car is presented for consideration.
  • To be considered, application to technical committee must be made by September 15.
  • Owner is eligible once per vehicle.
  • Car must be 25 years old or older           
The following guidelines and criteria will be interpreted by the technical committee for the awarding of the Ernie Johnson Memorial Trophy.
  • Restoration must be a ground-up restoration.There is no requirement to restore any mechanism unnecessarily in order to put it in like-new condition. e. g. if an engine has only 7000 miles on it, repainting the exterior may be all that is required. However, complete disassembly of every major assembly is a requirement in order to determine their condition.
  • An original *cream puff* car will not be considered for this award unless 50% or more of its parts had to be restored.
  • Authenticity should have the highest priority in consideration. If two cars of equally fine authenticity are presented for the award, the one entailing the most owner work should be given the award.
  • At least 50% of the total restoration work must be done personally by the owner to qualify as an owner restored car. In addition, at least 4 of the following tasks must have been performed by the owner: 
    • A.  total car disassembly
    • B.  engine rebuilding
    • C.  drive train rebuilding
    • D.  plating, casting and machining
    • E.  sandblasting
    • F.  welding and brazing
    • G.  body work (sheet metal)
    • H.  body painting
    • I.  Reupholstering
    • J.  top rebuilding
    • K.  repair, painting of accessories
    • L.  repair, painting of chassis and running gear (hubs, drums, springs, steering  


Each of the above items will be ranked by the technical committee on a scale of 0-5 for authenticity and personal work contribution when judging for this award.

  • Unauthentic accessories will detract from the total overall restoration, but in no case should a car with a less perfect overall restoration be chosen because of this requirement.
  • Owners of new, ongoing restorations should be provided with a copy of these guidelines, on request, before they present their cars for inspection.
  • There is no requirement that this award be made every year. The award should be retired in the year in which no outstanding restoration is made. This is past practice and precedent.
  • Preference should be given the amateur restorer over the professional restorer in evaluation of the overall restoration.
  • The technical committee has the sole responsibility for the interpretation of these guidelines.



 Back to Awards    
Leland Memorial Trophy Award       


The Leland Memorial Award Trophy is given in memory of Edmund F. Leland, Sr., of North Andover by his son Ted and was instituted in 1981 consisting of a large copper stein.
It is presented to the individual who hosted the highest attended meet for the calendar year. The recipient of the award will be given the stein to hold for a period of 1 year, at which time a replica consisting of a pewter stein will be presented to them.

  Back to Awards
Herman V. Cann Memorial Award


The Herman V. Cann Memorial Trophy is dedicated to a man who joined the club in 1960 and ran two to three meets at his home in Danvers for several years, served as Director in 1966, 1967 and 1968 and received the club’s highest award for outstanding service in 1965 for his continuous help with the club.
In 1971, he was awarded Honorary Life Membership. After he passed away in 1973, the award was set up for outstanding program achievement.
The trophy consists of a large polished pewter brandy snifter on a base. The recipient of the award will be given the snifter to hold for 1 year at which time a replica consisting of the pewter snifter will be presented to them.

  Back to Awards
Howard Whipple Memorial Trophy


The Howard Whipple Memorial Trophy is given in memory of Howard Whipple of Swampscott who was an organizer of the club, a charter member, served on the Barn Committee, Technical Committee and Director and show judge many times.

   Back to Awards
Elliott Stinson Memorial Trophy


The Elliot Stinson Memorial Trophy is the Club's highest award.
Elliot Stinson from Beverly joined the club in 1954 and became one of the most active, hard working members who did a great deal for the club until he passed away in the spring of 1958. He was a Director in 1956 and worked several committees including the Barn Committee and was the club’s goodwill ambassador. In 1958 the Board of Directors voted to award the 10-inch silver memorial bowl to the club member who is selected by the Awards Committee for outstanding service in club activity.
The recipient of the award will be given the bowl to hold for 1 year at which time a replica consisting of the silver bowl will be presented to them.


Website Builder